Song of America-John Mellencamp

Song of America

Regular price
Sale price

This 3 CD compilation features John's 2007 solo/acoustic version of Woody Guthrie's "This Land Is Your Land." Artists as diverse as John Mellencamp, Blind Boys of Alabama, Martha Wainwright, The Black Crowes and Andrew Bird contribute tracks to Song of America, a unique 50-song, three-CD set envisioned by former U.S. Attorney General Janet Reno and artist/producer Ed Pettersen.

The collection recounts the history of America in song, from 1492 through to modern times. Song of America provides listeners an artistic way to connect with America's vast musical and cultural heritage with new and varied renditions of beloved classics. This amazing compilation includes musical interpretations performed by contemporary artists spanning the gamut of folk, blues, rock, R&B, country, classical, and hip-hop genres.

Janet Reno explains, "I thought that music would be a great way to engage listeners, especially young listeners, and spark their interest so they could gain a greater understanding and appreciation for our history. I am very proud to be associated with this collection of inspired performances."